Finding a Reason to Celebrate 🙌🏼

I’m still in the process of reeling from the incredible weekends that the end of May to June has boasted, and the times are only showing me better days to come. Now that’s the way to ring in Q3 of 2016. I mean, this is the year of me saying YES to things within reason.

At this point, my weekday social life has been limited to the gym, or having dinner, then heading straight home. Sleep has been my greatest weakness, thanks to the traffic on EDSA, combating my survival for those glorious early morning hangovers.

Here’s a quick recap of my awesome summer weekends:

May 15 – Nike Women’s Run

First 21K Half Marathon in my life. Had to run and workout almost every day, for two months, to train and practice for this. The goal was to finish in less than 3 hours, however, we, my partner and best friend, Arianne, finished it in about 4 hours. This was definitely one of the craziest things that I have done in my life. But I’m definitely joining and training for the next one. 🙂

3007.GIF
From Nike Run Club. Apparently, this was how long it took me to finish the race. :))

May 21 – 22 Spirit Cup (Discney Princesses)

One of those gender-specific leagues, where my all girl team, Disney Princesses, joined. We battled it out for a weekend but came short at second place. As much as the loss for the Championship hurt, I love the enthusiasm and fondness that this team has for food. So it was a weekend of Food and Games. 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 1.25.22 PM
Your Spirit Cup 2016 All Women’s Division, 2nd Placer

May 27 – 29 Virus Summer Outing

This was definitely one of those moments you wish would never end. The fact that this also served as a send-off to some of the people closest to me in the office, it was fun yet a very emotional weekend.

I actually can’t remember the last time I slept before dawn, drinking and talking with friends, or having a massive hangover. This actually ignited the drunk that I was before the traffic on EDSA barred me from having a Social Life.

Being more sentimental, this showed me how much this company means to me. How much I grew from being naive, selfish and entitled to being the person that I am today. The challenges that I faced at work moved me to the point of humility and understanding. And I have Virus to thank for that. 🙂

13335737_10209900876866482_6190645265650786739_n.jpg
Virus in Montemar 2016

June 4 – 5 Mei’s Birthday and Chang’s Send-off

Drove to Tagaytay for a weekend of fun and genuine, uhm, feelings? All we did was eat. And it was absolute heaven. So glad to have spent this weekend with the girls that matter. ❤

There is no easy way to let go of someone and move on. I typically don’t get bent out of shape when a person leaves, but knowing that one of my office best friends is leaving, had me in pieces. The fact that I actually didn’t expect for us to be this close breaks me. My heart still goes out for you Chang. I missed you!

0.02.01.dc5d28bdc50d9913f40f1f6daec77f68fb8ace67d1507d2c7a8fb7dece794bb0_full.jpg
Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot, and Prongs

June 8 – Blue Team Potluck

A whole day social gathering for Chang and Kim’s Farewell and most especially, the ‘Huling Hirit ng Blue Team’, before we get disbanded and separated for good.

What started as a Blue Team initiative turned into the whole office participating. This has been one of the most successful food trips that the Blue Team has hosted. :))

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 1.48.06 PM.png
Initial List for the Potluck
0.02.01.93fd965d818d67bfb783354ad31c386016d97e4ccc832f66611c34ee766050e5_full
Blurred Image of the festivity

June 11 – 12 Lui’s Walwal in Baguio

One of my officemates have never been to Baguio, so about two months before this weekend, Mike, the boss, sent an email invite for a weekend in Baguio. 🙂 2 days, 3 provinces, and one of the best road trips I had in my life.

0.02.01.3063e3fa27b492789764a709cb085fdd7aeb2e7202dfd4cd42d05c227d58e7b7_full.jpg
With Virus’ Awesome Media Team

 

Check out this link for more details

June 20 Late night road trip to UP Los Banos

One of my friends’ dad died, and we decided to make the trip down south on a Monday night.

2 reasons why we did it:

    1. We didn’t want to miss work the next day
    2. Avoiding traffic

PS. I was tired the whole week cause of this. We left at around 11:30PM and got back home at 4AM. (I wasn’t entirely sure if this was actually a great idea, after all 😂)

June 24 – MTV Music Evo

The first time I heard from Marella that One Republic would be here for this event, I immediately told her that I wanted to go and see them. I was awarded (from joining a contest) 2 Gen Ad tickets about a month before the event. Little did I know that my younger sisters wanted to come to the event but weren’t able to secure tickets. Luckily for me, my college best friend works for Nickelodeon and was able to give me 4 VIP tickets.

It was raining during the event, and tho we were given rain coats, the VIP area was golden. It was not only elevated, but it also had seats, more space and, of course, a tent. I only knew that One Republic would be there, but didn’t expect to see Bebe Rexha and the Far East Movement. It was a glorious moment for music.

I was also given a pass to the After-party at Chaos City of Dreams and was fortunate enough to be upgraded to the VIP lounge. Free flowing, high tier, drinks is one of my weakness. After a glass of Johnnie Black, white wine and finally settling for Gin Tonics, I found myself dancing to in-house DJ, and one of my childhood crushes, Tom Taus.

If the night wasn’t even more auspicious, I was also lucky to be with friends who checked in at the Nobu hotel, and retired there, not even remembering how we got back to the room. It gave me a massive hangover the next day but it was one of the best times I had with strangers.

June 29 – Moving Up Day at Virus

After several months of construction, the 4th floor of our building was finally able to house the Social Media, the Insights and Media, and the Business Department of Virus. It was definitely a drastic change, moving from a very tight environment to a spacious, roomy and new office. It was also my first time to be in the same room with my department after almost two years of separation. It was sad that we had to leave some departments below, such as the Creatives, on the third floor, but I guess its time for us move on also.

June 30 – Virus Monthly Celebration

There are a lot of things to be thankful for, such as the awesome people that I work with. I think this dinner celebration capped off June for me in a new perspective. I am happy to be part of the milestones in Virus, and also in my friends’ life.

13501615_1180976558581356_2676014925422326655_n
Photo taken by Andro Bañadera at Nomads BBQ Refuge

 

Check out our website if you’re interested in joining our awesome team: www.virusworldwide.com

Leave a Reply

